Craft Time, part deux

2 Sep

With my earrings properly strung up on the net I constructed, I came across a knotted necklace chain and decided to make something from my leftover supplies.

Supplies

First, I selected different sized chopsticks from those remaining in the pack. I made the bottom chopstick the longer one, as you’ll see in the finished product.

I made holes so each end of the chopsticks could be threaded with ribbon. This took the most time, as it was done by hand with the use of a small, very pointy screw. I also made sure the holes were the same distance apart on both chopsticks, despite their differences in length.

Step - Drilling the holes

To match my earrings net, I painted the chopsticks black with some leftover poster paint a previous ALT had left.

Step - Finished hole and painted black

Once dry, I threaded ribbon pieces through the small holes. Like last time, I got the ribbon through the holes by towing them through with a looped piece of thread. The ribbon went through a lot easier than the stretchy string. Each side had its own long stretch of ribbon, with the two separate pieces coming together at the top.

Step - Pole with ribbon

The finished product:

Last Step

Note: It was not nearly as crooked as it looks, but I did tighten up the bottom right side a bit after this shot.

Leave a comment